Debrief and Discuss BD2K Guide to the Fundamentals of Data Science

MLA Course
Listing Archived: Friday, December 29, 2017

Primary contact information...
National Network of Libraries of Medicine, MidContiental Region
10 North 1900 East
Salt Lake City UT , 84112
United States
John Bramble is the primary contact.

Description: Health Sciences Library support for data researchers and computer scientists is a new role for librarians. Working being done in biomedical big data fields and precision medicine is The Big Data to Knowledge (BD2K) Initiative presents a weekly online lecture series on the data science underlying modern biomedical research. The series began in September 2016 and is scheduled to run through early 2017. The weekly presentations are from experts across the country covering the basics of data management, representation, computation, statistical inference, data modeling, and other topics relevant to “big data” in biomedicine. The webinar series will provide essential training suitable for individuals at an introductory overview level. All video presentations from the seminar series will be streamed for live viewing, recorded, and posted online for future viewing and reference. This webinar series is a collaboration between the TCC, the NIH Office of the Associate Director for Data Science, and BD2K Centers Coordination Center (BD2KCCC). To shape these sessions, we will attempt to address these questions: 1. In the context of health information access (organization of information, research, findability, etc.) what role can the librarian play to support researchers in their data lifecycle at your institution? 2. What assets do librarians have to bring to the table? 3. What skills do librarians need? 4. What Resources are needed? 5. Who are the most important stakeholders librarians need to align with to get a seat at the table?

Experience Level: Intermediate
Continuing Education Experience: None
CE Contact Hours: 2 per session attended
Professional Competencies: Health Sciences Environment and Information Policies, Health Sciences Information Services, Information Systems and Technology, Research + Analysis and Interpretation
Subject: Electronic Resources, Health Care Informatics, Leadership, Research, Technology/Systems
Course Type: e-Learning, Hands-on, RML Offerings

Educational Objective: Increase understanding

Agenda:

Synchronous Sessions Every Friday through early mid 2017

(Find your timezone)

Attend one of live BD2K Guide to the Fundamentals of Data Science Series
- Fridays at 9am-10am PT|10am-11am MT|11am-noon CT|noon-1pm ET 
30 minute break (go get your lunch)
Attend the corresponding debrief session and contribute to the discussion*
- 10:30am-11am PT|11:30am-noon MT|12:30pm-1pm CT|1:30pm-2pm ET
Submit session evaluation - 30 Minutes  

*Debrief session time could be scheduled at a different time better suited for the instructor and their participant. 

Asynchronous Sessions
1. View one of live BD2K Guide to the Fundamentals of Data Science Series recordings
2. Contribute responses 1 required discussion question and two or more of the optional discussion questions
3. Evaluate the session

Need for This Course: Support for data researchers at all points of the research lifecycle is likely to become a primary role for health sciences librarians. What kind of library support researchers want and what kinds of skills librarians need to have in order to meet that need remain unanswered questions. If health sciences librarians want to provide meaningful contributions to a growing field, discussions need to take place and action plans need to be created.

The instructional methods used include Lecture, Discussion, Debate, Dialog, Hands-on Exercises, and Other.

Additional Evaluation: MLA Course Evaluation